Bored, are we?

So, I’ve never really been bored. And honestly, I do have things to do. I really do. I just don’t want to do THOSE things. I’ve always been swamped single mama with several jobs, a house and a daughter to raise. Since the new marriage a little over a year ago, I’ve really had some adjusting to do. But I do have some help I didn’t have before. And B is 9 now…she needs me still, but differently. And not as often. We still spend more one-on-one time than most parents and their children, but it’s not as demanding as it was when she was little. All these things are good right? I know…they are supposed to be. BUT, I’m getting bored. I’m not used to this sort of life. And second of all, I think I really like being busy. I have hobbies, I have friends…it’s just still so new and odd. And I feel guilty when everyone says, “I am SOOOO busy, I just can’t stand how stressed I am”. Although I’m never really a stressed out kind of girl-but I am kinda bored.
It almost feels like my life has had all of it’s most exciting moments already. Has anyone else ever felt this way?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. littlemansmom
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 13:47:22

    LOL…..I haven’t had time to be bored! I try to keep myself as busy as possible..last year I even managed littlemans football team inorder to prevent boredom. This year I’m on the event committee…..keep looking, and you WILL find something that takes the boredom away…. ;)

    Reply

  2. Jolene
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 15:48:51

    Sorry, nope. But I’m looking forward to it :)

    Reply

  3. Jolene
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 15:51:27

    Ooops, wasn’t finished. I definitely agree that I had more exciting moments in the past – say 10-12 years ago, but I’m hoping and praying that there will be tons more. Wow, pretty optimistic for me.

    Reply

  4. jenn
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 16:51:08

    I’m always crazy busy, and then I’ll have a quite weekend and feel bored out of my mind. And I have plenty to do at home. So I know how you feel, at least a little bit. I don’t feel like that everytime I have a quiet weekend, but sometimes.

    Reply

  5. pisceshanna
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 18:18:51

    Well hell, going from single motherhood to married life is probably the most insane adjustment ever! Its hard to get out of the “what else do I have to do?” mindset.

    Reply

  6. Shannon
    Apr 21, 2009 @ 13:29:07

    LittleMansMom, I used to do lots of other activities, but NewHusband likes me to be around…so I need to find things at home to do. :) Gardening works and house stuff…but still.
    Jolene, yes you ARE optimistic. And probably right. But in my “despair”, I just can’t see it that way.
    Jenn, glad to know I’m not alone. Bored doesn’t mean I don’t have anything to do I guess, it means that I don’t WANT to do anything available for me.
    PH, thanks. You get it. :) But of course!

    Reply

  7. vinomom
    Apr 21, 2009 @ 13:54:44

    Oh I totally know exactly what you’re saying. My daughter is soon to be 9 this summer, and it’s exactly like you said, she still needs you, but not in the same way.

    It’s funny because I was just talking about this with my (childless) gfriends the other day. It’s such a strange feeling, and new. Some days I just don’t know what to do with myself (besides clean, I can ALWAYS clean more, but I don’t always want to be doing that!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

