Proud mama moment.

Graduation day was bittersweet-as they always are.

However there was a lovely surprise.  After a not-optimal year and a teacher that was the worst she’s had yet…my girl got the Presidential Award for Academic Excellence!  For those who don’t know (which I didn’t until after), it’s based on overall grades being 90-100, teacher recommendations and above 85th percentile on our state exams.  More on how ridiculous those state exams are later.  What a proud moment for her!  Her dad’s parents were there and my mom and me.  Lots of pictures and a lovely, happy, confident girl.  And now, we’re off to middle school.  And I profess this adamantly, that little girl you see up there in that adorable dress?  Yes, the one that people mistake for a 14 year old?  She’s 10.  And she’s my baby.  Still.  Always.  Ask her.  She’ll tell you.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jolene
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 14:08:39

    That’s awesome. The academic awards always mean more to me than the athletic awards (for myself too). You’re right, she does look older – make it stop!!! It’s making me feel old : )

    Reply

  2. stepmumoftheyear
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 22:08:18

    You must be doing an amazing job – well done, and congratulations!

    (By the way – I initially assumed it was you in the picture! Once of my stepsons is ten, and your daughter looks, oh, about seven to twelve years older than him…)

    Reply

  3. Single Mom Seeking
    Jul 06, 2010 @ 10:20:50

    Yes, mama, this award says a lot about YOU. Bravo. This makes all of us proud.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

