11 is the new 15.

My daughter is going to be 11 this month.  However she both looks and acts 15.  I blame much of this on the YouTube videos she is obsessed with.  See for yourself at  JuicyStar07 .  Now these aren’t harmful by any stretch.  They just involve make-up and a young fashionista.  My daughter is not allowed to wear make-up out in public.  It’s just something she is playing with and having fun doing in her spare time.  But she spends a tremendous amount of time organizing her lovely new vanity and jewelry box.  I will have to take photos of this and add them in later (since I am at work).

She is particulary obsessed with M.A.C. cosmetics.  Something she will get to indulge a bit on our trip to NYC for her birthday.  It is fun and I can understand the “collecting” aspect of this newfound fascination.  And I will admit, I love that she’s so about organizing her room…so thank you to Blair Fowler (Miss JuicyStar07 herself) for that.

But I must admit, it makes me really happy when her friend comes over and they play with their dolls.  After all, those American Girl dolls need some love too.  And I need to see my baby acting like…well, like a little girl.  At least once in awhile.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barb
    Jul 09, 2010 @ 21:54:28

    I hear ya! I also have an 11 yo daughter and she’s my little sweet girl one minute and this eye-rolling, ipod listening tween the next. She’s the bomb though! I’ve enjoyed reading some of your posts. :)

    Reply

  2. Audrey
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 18:01:40

    Hello!

    Thanks so much for visiting my blog and commenting! You rock :) It helped motivate me to update it since I knew people were out there reading it.

    And I *totally* know Blair!!! Well, not know her, but I watch her videos all the time. That’s how I got into makeup myself :) Her sister’s videos are good, too. Blair is good for girls your daughter age – she seems sweet. I now freelance as a makeup artist – and it all started from Youtube :) (www.makeupaudrey.com)

    I hope your daughter doesn’t get into NARS. Great products but their color names are quite “mature” ;) (ex. their most popular blush is Orgasm)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

