Exemplar. (hero)

Yesterday while picking up B from her after-school program I was going down the hallway where her classroom is located and noticed the bulletin boards were changed.  I was excited to see that they had done these “About Me” posters.  I love seeing what is inside their little 8 year old minds and what their impression of themselves is.  Hers was much what I thought it would be, I could have guessed most of her answers.  But for “My Hero”, where most of her friends had silly, little things like Hannah Montana or Miley Cyrus, B had “My mom” and drew a colorful kite underneath.  Sigh.  I must be doing something right.  Because why is it me and not her Dad too?  She usually claims both of us on all things like that and I encourage it, but this was very special.  

Oddly enough it reminds me of a couple months ago, when her Dad had this ringback tone on his phone, so when I called it played this song:

“I Get It” by Chevelle

So you say you’re ignored
As it is,
Well, give us your sad, sad trip

You’re right, I get it
It all makes sense, you’re the perfect person
So right, so wrong
Let’s all live in your imaginary life

Assumed it’s whether
We’re right or wrong
We’re doomed, and there’s plenty for all

How dare you catch me counting?
How dare you call at all?
How dare you call it suffering?
How dare you call at all?

You’re right, I get it
It all makes sense, you’re the perfect person
So right, so wrong
Let’s all live in your imaginary life

Press on these tannins
They double in time
The touch of life, once failed to mention so far

Of course the law is fountains
Or face to face remorse
A fast and restless blackmail
Like pent-up fetish force

You’re right, I get it
It all makes sense, you’re the perfect person
So right, so wrong
Let’s all live in your imaginary life

Do you want enough?
Do you want it all?
Should you need it at all?
Takes a minute to see
Do you want enough?
Do you want it all?
Should you need it at all?
Do you want it or not?

You’re right, I get it
It all makes sense, you’re the perfect person
So right, so wrong
Let’s all live in your imaginary life

Life, life, life.

 

It cracked me up.  Very hilarious.  Guess I still annoy him sometimes, even though he’d not admit that to me.  😉  Good.  I’m over how our marriage ended, but I don’t love what happened, I don’t forgive him (sorry, I may be Catholic, but I do NOT forgive that) and I certainly don’t respect him or his lifestyle.  He’s paying every day for how he hurt me and his daughter…he’s hurt for the last 5 years.  Long enough?  Ummm, no not really.  Not for taking part of my daughter’s childhood and stealing the idyllic childhood from her, that I grew up with, not for ruining my concept of a happy marriage, not for making me forever leery and skeptical of truth.  And that’s just the half of it.  You may think I’m not over it from that last bit, and you’d be right.  I won’t ever be over it.  I’ve moved on and I’m very happy.  But a slight to my baby…doesn’t bode well for your future rep with me.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. singleworkingmommy
    Apr 12, 2008 @ 19:37:16

    No joke, but I’m pretty sure my ex sent me a youtube link to that song once. I know he’s sent me multiple chevelle songs to listen to.

    I’m dying to know what happened between you and your ex, but I suppose you’ll tell us in due time, maybe, and if not, that’s OK. I’m also happy to see that even though this bad thing happened, you are still able to remain somewhat friends. (I think, from what I can tell from these few blog posts. I could be wrong though… I’ve been wrong in the past! At least once or twice, anyway.)

    Reply

  2. Jolene
    Apr 13, 2008 @ 09:37:26

    That is so sweet of B. And at 8 no less. I don’t know who I would have put as my hero back then. My father has earned the rank of hero now that I’m an adult and can look back.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

