Enthusiastic fan.

For those of you eagerly awaiting the story of how my single parenting came to be…well that story is about to be told.  Probably in several segments.  The first of which will be called “The Groupie Days”.  

I was home from college for summer break, after my freshman year away.  I went with one of my male high school cheerleading buddies (best friend of my high school boyfriend) to hear a band that he said I would love.  They were practicing in someones garage.  My college boyfriend was home at his house in a city two and a half hours away.  We’d been together nearly a year.  We pulled into a small house in a nearby town and you could hear the music emanating from inside the garage.  We walked in, and I immediately locked eyes with a dark brown eyed, well built guy singing Bon Jovi’s “Bed of Roses”.  Both of us remember staying in that eye-lock for that whole song.  There were other members of that band (I should know, you marry one, you marry all five), but I didn’t ever really “see” any of them.  Even when later on, the drummer came up to me at a bar and said “Hi there…how are you?  I’m the drummer”…in a trying-to-be-smooth kind of way, blue eyes, dark hair and all…I was always about that Bon Jovi singing lead-singer, bass player.  Later that same night, at a nearby bar, the flirtation was high, the banter in full swing.  So, for the next few weeks, I went and heard his band play.  He winked at me, sang to me…and when his girlfriend was there, he’d sneak these passing glances and little comments in.  Yeah, he had a girlfriend.  Sorry to her…I did apologize later to this girl.  I spared her a lot of pain actually.  🙂  Finally, I was at a friends house and the buddy who introduced us called that friend.  He asked to talk to me and told me that G was interested in me and wanted to hang out.  I was all aflutter. He gave me a ride home one night and we talked.  That’s it just talked.  At another gig in the next few days, his girlfriend confronted me and asked if he had given me a ride home.  I said yes, but it was just that a ride home.  No worries.   Big sign right here, he had lied to her and told her we didn’t ride together, so when I said that we had, his eyes got huge and she yelled at him right there.  Ew.  Drama.  Crazy girlfriend.  Yuck.  (But was she really, I’d be mad too!)  I went to the next gig, he gave me a ride home and we played Super Mario Brothers.  🙂  He kissed me.  I told him that before anything was ever going to go anywhere with me, he needed to decide what he was doing with his girlfriend.  And I sent him on his way.  Apparently, he immediately broke up with her.  He called me, told me that it was over and it slowly began to be more rides home, longer kisses…and endless nights of him singing to me.  In public, in private…wrapping himself around my heart.  Love letters, phone calls, every waking second together, completely enjoying another person in the fullest sense on every level, for the first time in my life.  THIS was a best friend.  AND an ideal match.  We just fit.  We had so much fun together.  Sports, family, friends…life was exciting and fun.  We talked about marriage and when we’d be married.  We described the rings I liked, looked at them in stores.  I knew he’d be giving it to me that next summer.  Guess what?  He couldn’t wait.  He proposed one day in the spring.  After 8 months together.  I was so excited.  The first one of my friends to get engaged, I was thrilled to set a date nearly two years down the road after I’d be out of college.  Let the planning begin.  Oh wait.  Did I mention my Mom’s face when I told her?  Yeah, it wasn’t what I would call thrilled.  Not at all.  And that boyfriend I had at college? I ended that the second I knew that G was done with his girlfriend.  I didn’t have one doubt about this relationship.  (Maybe that’s why at the beginning of the summer when I first met him I told my girlfriends, “that guy will marry me someday”).  I’d never been so sure of anything.  That surety continued right up until I was 6 months pregnant with our lovely little princess.  And ever since it ended, I’ve been sure of nothing again, except my complete love and devotion to her.

(What lies ahead?  Oh, the tell tale signs that happened throughout the engagement and then the marriage, and then the pregnancy…so at least a few more chapters).  

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. liz
    Apr 14, 2008 @ 13:19:04

    I’ve said it before but I’m happy to have found you and look forward to the rest of the story!!!

    Reply

  2. singleworkingmommy
    Apr 14, 2008 @ 22:21:57

    I echo Liz’s remarks. So happy to have found you, and I’m DYING to read the rest of the chapters!

    Reply

  3. Leslie
    Apr 15, 2008 @ 16:46:37

    Good stuff! I can’t wait for chapter two 🙂

    Reply

  4. Jolene
    Apr 15, 2008 @ 19:05:23

    Unfortunately I was around during Chapter Two. I look forward to your take on the whole thing, as I was just a friend of a friend at the time.

    Reply

  5. Kelly
    Apr 16, 2008 @ 06:45:42

    Can’t wait to read more. I have a feeling I know where this is headed.

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Let’s see how far we’ve come… « Former Single Mommy

Leave a Reply

