Chapter 5.

So..I can hear parts of their conversation from the window where I’m sitting in B’s nursery.  She asks what’s going on and he tells her that he’s home, that he told her already this is where he belongs.  It goes on like that for about ten minutes and my father-in-law is on the phone coaching me to go outside.  Finally, I get the courage to do so (nowadays, I would have marched right out there and thrown rocks at her car and punched her in the face…I’m a much fiestier wife now).  I start walking down towards the car and they are ending their chat.  She drives off and he walks up the hill and says “Let’s go inside and talk”.  I say “No.  Have you been seeing that girl?  Who is she?  Is that where you’ve been all those times?”.  He just says a simple “yes”.  I take the very heavy cordless phone and chuck it at his head.  Hard.  He picks it up and follows me inside.  I cry and continue to ask him what kind of a jerk he is, and what did he take me for?  (Gee, I don’t know, the naive idiot that I actually was?).  It goes on for a bit.  His Dad tells us to come up to his house (he called back, the phone is still operable apparently).  We go to his parents, I go inside and cry and he stays outside with his father, who dragged him out of the car and is seriously ripping into him.  Somehow it all winds down, we go home and I tell him that I’m going to his show tonight.  I want to see this girl in person.  Will she be there?  BsDaddy is a musician in a popular area band.  Hence how he met Jen.  She was a groupie who followed him around for awhile.  One day, according to him, he was in line at a local grocery store and she was behind him in line (a set up, she worked at the bank in the aforementioned grocery store)  and struck up a conversation.  He says that he’s had better days.  She says something about maybe he should swing by sometime and talk about it.  And there it begins.  They actually sat near each other at a local restaurant before a show.  People KNEW.  Friends knew.  Worst of all, some family and the band members I considered like family (and their wives), yeah they knew.  They all chose to stay out of it.  I mean seriously, that pregnant wife living in the middle of nowhere, she must have done SOMETHING to deserve it.  Right?  I kid you not, a few people said their husbands told them to stay out of it, because maybe I wasn’t as nice as everyone thought.  

Back to topic.  Headed to the outdoor restaurant/bar to stand on the back deck where the hubby was playing.  He came out during breaks and leaned on me, kissing me.  Told me when Jen showed up.  I walked up behind her and her group of friends and made some very nasty comments something like “THIS is her???  Seriously, couldn’t you have chosen better if you were going to jeopardize our marriage?  Honey, she’s bigger than me and I’m 8 months pregnant!”.  I know, catty.  But I wasn’t thinking straight.  And I wanted that little homewrecker to HURT.  I wasn’t yet mad enough at BsDaddy.  Just wait, that will come.

Eventually, we were standing, surrounded by about 20 friends on the back deck and she walks by.  I’m leaning against a rail, he’s leaning against me, his back to the little walkway.  She prances by and tickles his side.  For real.  I kid you not.  Now that was some serious courage.  Now here comes the part I remember really, really well.  I said “Get your hands off my husband you dirty whore”.  She turns around.  “What did you say to me?  BsDaddy, did you hear that?”.  (He’s just standing there stunned).  “I think you heard me.  Get away from us right now”.  She grins “He loves me.  He wants to be with ME.  Tell her where you were last night, tell her”.  I stare hard into her face.  “If he wants to go with you, he’s free to go at any time.  Do you want to go BsDaddy?  I can get a ride home just fine.  All our friends are here anyway.”.  He says “No, seriously.  I love you.  I’m going home with you.”.  She says “WHAT?  Why are you saying that now?  He’s only with you because of this” and on “this” she points to, actually making physical contact with my pretty large belly in my oh-so-cute denim shirt.  Instinct, BsMommy mother-bear style, kicks in and I haul off and crack her hard in the face.  “How dare you?  I could call the cops on you.  That’s assault”.  And I will forever pride myself on how I handled this.  Sometimes I’m nervous under pressure, but not this time.  “Listen, my entire family is in law enforcement and we are surrounded by 20 of my close friends.  Who do you think they are going to believe?  The pregnant wife or the dirty tramp?  And for your information, THIS baby, he BEGGED me to have.  I didn’t even want children.  So you just might want to get your story a little straighter.  And if he wants you, he’s free to go at any time.  I however am leaving and I suggest you stay the f#$% away from me”.  With that, I walk away, out into the parking lot and sit on a stone wall by the lake.  My best girl Tammy (LOVE HER) stays there and talks to this girl and BsDaddy follows me and we talk outside.  We then leave and go home…and what follows is where it gets a little boring for awhile, so we’ll save that for the next one.  Tammy has the inside scoop on what the girl said during all that time.  But Tammy tells her “look if you have all this evidence you say you do, send it to her, leave them alone right now.  If he belongs with you, he’ll come back.  But leave them alone right now”.

And by the way that best girl, Tam, she had been tailing BsDaddy and found where he was parking and staying and this was all going to come out that weekend.  She was going to drive me over and let me walk in on it.  She wanted to be sure to have her facts right and not make a false accusation.  Remember she was a friend of both of us.  BsDaddys story is that they only kissed twice, never had sex and never was he planning on leaving me.  It was all an awful mistake.  This all gets a bit more clarified in the next chapter.  And we get to further prove him a liar.  

I’m so excited for you all to find the end.  Like present day end.  I actually saw this girl the other day, she lives right near Bs school.  The ending is kinda funny.  😉  But we have a long way to go.  Again no proofreading when I do these reflections, so forgive me for run-ons and any errors.  

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jolene
    Apr 24, 2008 @ 16:02:48

    I was there that night, but I didn’t know you hit her. I wish I could have seen that. I knew about Tammy’s surveillance, but I didn’t know what she was planning on doing with it. I did not know about any of it until that night. I never pitied you, I pitied him for ruining everything. Stupid idiot.

    I can’t wait to hear about the “funny” ending.

    Reply

  2. Leslie
    Apr 24, 2008 @ 16:14:24

    “Who do you think they are going to believe? The pregnant wife or the dirty tramp?” love it!

    It’s amazing the girl wasn’t embarrassed to come up to his pregnant wife, she got a fitting response. And all the friends that said nothing, wow!

    Reply

  3. singleworkingmommy
    Apr 24, 2008 @ 22:06:53

    First, loving the new layout. MUCH easier to read.

    Second, wow-oh-wow! What an exciting chapter. Can’t wait to read more. Also, I’m mad at your friend’s for not telling you sooner, if they knew for sure.

    Reply

  4. Kelly
    Apr 24, 2008 @ 22:27:34

    Gotta love the “loyalty” of the people that knew, right? After I found out about my then-husband’s affair, it was AMAZING how people crawled out of the woodwork to tell me tales of infidelity that had been going on for months. Some very good friends (so I thought) who were more than happy to provide details…… now that I knew! To this day (10 years later) that is still a very difficult thing to deal with. It has forever changed my ability to trust people; to build trusting friendships.

    I never got a “crack” at her face, though. That would have felt really, really good! Looking forward to the rest of the story.

    Reply

  5. Liz
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 09:52:34

    Love the new layout, too!

    Am anxiously awaiting the last installment of the story. I got all excited today when Chapter 5 popped up in my google reader!

    Reply

  6. Tammy
    May 01, 2008 @ 14:52:36

    Shannon,
    That was one of the worse chapters in my life also. I had already lost one friend by telling them that their boyfriend was cheating. I was the liar and I was the one that was making up stuff. I was so worried about telling you. Plus I had never seen the two of them do anything physical. I did find it odd that his truck was at her place so late though and that bothered me. I so didn’t want to ruin your marriage though when I really wasn’t sure what the heck was going on but I continued to monitor his every move. I was stressed out. I will never forget that. I can tell you this though. If I had ever seen them out to dinner or getting cozy in the bar I would have kicked hers and his ass right there. I think that you handled the situation very well and I respect you for all the choices that you made, whether right or wrong. Nobody knew what you were going through so they had no right to judge. For all those who have forgotten, it was because they never bothered to know. He ruined your marriage, not you!

    Reply

  7. Shannon
    May 02, 2008 @ 09:11:16

    Now does everyone see why I love Tammy so much?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

