Do you make your kid go to church?

B made her First Communion last year.  We’re practicing Catholics.  She’s such a good girl, but this is the face I get before church:

(I totally remember feeling this way as a child).

Maybe because her Mommy bought her this, and she wants to stay home and play with the two eight-year-old neighbor girls:

I can see it right out my bedroom window, and from the kitchen, so it’s perfectly situated!

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jolene
    May 01, 2008 @ 15:48:44

    I was a Catholic, but I never liked going to church. Mass used to bore me to tears. Maybe if we would have had a better priest. One that was 90 years old.

    That playset is so freakin awesome.

    Reply

  2. Dr. Paul
    May 01, 2008 @ 15:54:07

    You know, I think one of the clear challenges we have as parents is giving our kids good reasons for doing the things we think will help them to be happier. OUR reasons are usually not really well connected with THEIR reasons. My kids are really good about going to church, but now as teens, it is even more important for me to acknowledge their agency and freedom to choose their own course. I want to show them what works for me and help them create their own reasons for attending beyond what Dad wants. Thanks for your post.

    Reply

  3. Jolene
    May 01, 2008 @ 16:51:38

    Oops, I meant wasn’t 90 years old.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

