Sleep disturbance?

My eight year old little girl is having sleep troubles.  Can you help?  I’m wondering if it’s hormonal, as she’s definitely starting to go through some mild changes of that fashion. Has anyone else experienced this?

 

She’s going to bed at her normal time, same routine.  She usually fell right asleep, taking a maximum of ten to fifteen minutes after lights out, to be really asleep.  And then she had no night waking (except rare bouts of sickness or nightmares).  She’s not stalling.  She just lies there for an hour or two and can not fall asleep.  She’s tired, she’s yawning, she’s trying.  But it’s not happening.  I’ve tried all the standard stuff, but I’m at a loss.  She gets out of bed after two hours to tell me she can’t sleep.  Or that she was asleep and woke up.  When I go in around 10:30 or 11:00 to kiss her she sits up and kisses me back.  Weird.  The girl usually sleeps so soundly I could throw a major bash and she’d sleep right through it all.  

She’s exhausted in the morning.  And I’m getting stressed out worrying about it.  And the new husband is not helpful here.  It’s one area I’m painfully aware that no matter if we got married…I’ll always be a “single mother”.  (Yay).  I’m defending her saying she’s not stalling and he’s saying “Who is the boss here?  Who is in charge?”.  It’s not like when his son gets out of bed one hundred times to try and avoid bedtime.  B LIKES bedtime!  She’s confused by this too.  I’m dreading the start of braces/headgear/palate expander in the next few weeks…if she can’t sleep now…….?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. liz
    May 02, 2008 @ 11:40:24

    My boys are still little and have those kinds of sleeping issues, so I won’t be able to offer great advice on tips…

    But is there anything going on that is upsetting her? Problems at school, with her Dad, or some underlying issue that has her not able to let her mind rest and get a good night’s sleep?

    Hope this gets better soon!!!

    Reply

  2. Jolene
    May 02, 2008 @ 14:28:50

    I won’t be much help either, sorry. Up until now Dan worked third shift, so I’d just let the night wakers and wanderers crawl in bed with me. It wasn’t worth the fight (as long as it occured after 11:00 p.m., that is).

    I had the same thoughts as liz.

    Reply

  3. singleworkingmommy
    May 03, 2008 @ 22:11:42

    When I read your post, I immediately thought something might be bothering her. I’m a pretty decent sound sleeper–and I only have problems when I’m stressed out/worrying about stuff, etc.

    Not sure if that helps, but I wish you luck in figuring out the issue.

    Reply

  4. Kelly
    May 07, 2008 @ 19:38:34

    The sleep thing I think we went through briefly a couple years ago when my daughter was 9-ish. It was also the same time when she was going through some sort of separation anxiety when I would take her to school. Her teacher was very helpful and attentive and we never did come to any concrete conclusions. I think it was hormonal. It only lasted a few weeks and hasn’t happened since, TG!

    A little more than a year ago she stared wearing an expander in preparation for braces. Last november she got the braces and every month they get adjusted, more metal added, etc. I can only suggest that you have plenty of ibuprofin/pain reliever on hand. And have a sympathetic ear and lots of patience. The monthly ortho appointments are like a monthly period. It brings on lots of moodiness and some extra drama! (For me too…. writing out the check every month is starting to put me in a bad mood.) I can’t wait for the braces to be off…… but not more than she!

    (My favorite thing to do for my baby when her mouth is aching and it helps her fall asleep…. I gently brush her hair after she climbs into bed. Her air is rather long and I stretch it out over the pillow and brush away until she has almost drifted off to sleep.)

    Good Luck!

    Reply

  5. Shannon
    May 13, 2008 @ 10:54:50

    Just like Kelly does for her babies, I had a mom who came in and rubbed my legs when I had growing pains. The hair brushing would put me right to sleep though Kelly!
    Lately, B stays awake LONGER when I lay with her in bed!
    I must say I think I’ve found somewhat of a solution. At 8:30 she turns off her TV or stops playing with the puppy (it’s room time at 8pm) and reads until she’s tired. This delays the pressure of having to fall immediately asleep.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

