During soccer practice…

This is what Mommy looks like!  I was supposed to be reading my current book, but hey sometimes you have to watch the practice, so you know what to help the munchkin out with later.  

This is our hectic week. The last week of May is always the culmination of a years worth of dance class, in the RECITAL.  It’s no fun for anyone but the dancers.  It’s in a piping hot auditorium, with lots of loud complaining people, none of whom want to watch anyone other than their own children.  I get it…I don’t really want to watch everyone else’s children.  Just mine and my girlfriends. But nevertheless, I’ll be there.  And guess what I’ll be missing-yes, the season finale of LOST.  Ugh.  Not good. 

I’ve got a question to ask my readers, which is where you come into play as my pseudo-counselors.  Remember how I mentioned that my ex-brother-in-law (whom I still like and who is good to B) bought a house just down the road in my development.  A little too close for comfort, even if you LIKE the ex-family member.  Nothing to do now but deal with it.  But it’s rather irritating to see them move in, and completely tear apart the house they just bought, like it’s not worth anything as is.  It’s like HGTV just came into our development and is ripping out every last shred of the house that was once there.  Why not just bulldoze it?  We aren’t talking about a house that needed the overhaul either.  This is a really upscale area and was a nice home.  It could have been worked on during the course of living there.  However, they’ve got both sides of the family, parents, aunts, friends, doing slave labor from morning til night, looking like they’ve been put through the mill when they leave, to get it “ready” to move in.  Seriously, they even are painting spare bedrooms.  I know, I’m being irritable, but it’s just so not me to tear everything apart like that.  I’m wasteful environmentally sometimes, don’t get me wrong, but this just seems like a showy, extravagant…ummm, waste.  Ok, I’m done.  And just for the record, I do like the brother-in-law.  Why is this so annoying to me (and to several others in our development)?  

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Liz
    May 28, 2008 @ 11:59:31

    My brother and sister-in-law did the SAME thing when they moved in and it annoyed me, too! Not sure why…

    I think a lot of it has to do with the wastefulness. Why do that to a perfectly good house? I get that you might want a new paint color or something…but a complete overhaul? Why even buy it?

    Reply

  2. littlemansmom
    May 28, 2008 @ 12:25:24

    My thinking is , if it ain’t broke don’t fix it..perk it up maybe but don’t fix it. Sounds like your exbil is trying to ‘fix’ something that isn’t broken and I would be annoyed to! First of all, he’s too close fr comfort, secondly, it’s almost like ‘showing off’ when someone does something like that, third, why buy a perfectly good house if you don’t like it the way it is (mostly), and finally, it IS a terrible waste

    I completley ‘get’ why it annoys you!

    (sorry if I sounded mean or like it was a rant….as I was reading *I* started getting annoyed *for* you! LOL)

    Reply

  3. Red Wine Gums
    May 30, 2008 @ 15:16:43

    Bit off topic but just like to say I enjoy the blog and hope to keep reading. You mentioned soccer and I play soccer so that was the thread of relevance I was clinging to 🙂

    Reply

  4. singleworkingmommy
    May 30, 2008 @ 18:45:11

    At first, honestly, I didn’t understand why it would be annoying at all.

    But I don’t live in an upscale part of town at all, and people are always tearing their houses apart and putting them back together. I’m used it. In fact, we did it when we moved in. Painted, re-did the hardwood (it was horrible!), put in a second bathroom. I’m not sure if annoyed anyone or not.

    That said, if I did live in a neighborhood I liked a lot, with a lot of nice houses, it might seem a little “show offy” like littlemansmommy said? Like the house wasn’t good enough “as is” so they had to tear it down and rebuild it. Maybe that feels like they are indaverently putting down your house? I’m not sure…

    Reply

  5. Jolene
    Jun 03, 2008 @ 15:02:41

    I missed Lost too. Flew to Georgia. Thank God for HD on the laptop. I caught up and watched both parts yesterday. I wish I didn’t have to wait until next season to get my fix 😦

    Reply

  6. Leslie
    Jun 05, 2008 @ 09:56:49

    That is very weird about the in-laws, especially making everyone labor on stuff that could be done in a weekend project. It seems rather wasteful to do all that and odd to do it all at once. I’m picturing it looking like “The Money Pit” 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

