Book Length.

Here’s a question.  I’m currently writing a book for young adults.  I mean really young.  The target audience is about 9-12.  What length do your children currently enjoy?  How long do they like the Chapters to be?  Especially when it’s a sort of historical fiction?  My daughter has never really been about the American Girl books, because they seemed dry and took too long to finish.  But then again, I’ll have to get her to try the again now that she’s a bit older.  

Of course you’ll all be the first to know when it’s completed and I’d love for you all to edit and review it for me once I’ve already got it out to the publisher.

And obviously I will link to sellers here of course.  But it could be awhile.  My Dad is helping me with some of it, in particular the illustrations.  It’s going to be a great project to work on together.

 

And my girl is back.  Prettier than ever, happy to see her Mama and does she ever smell amazing.  🙂  We watched 13 going on 30, with Jennifer Garner, and cuddled.  🙂  Yesterday we spent the day with my Dad.  He might possibly be B’s biggest fan  

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Leslie
    Jun 16, 2008 @ 19:07:29

    How cool! I used to pour through books at that age, that’ll be a great genre. I’d say maybe 200 pages?…then again the font is usually pretty big in YA books so I don’t know how the translates!

    Yay!

    Reply

  2. Mimi
    Jun 16, 2008 @ 23:37:40

    For 12yr olds my guess is about 12 pages for a chapter max. Depending on the size of print that could totally be respectable. You’re including some illustrations IN the story, not just the cover? (Half page stuff?) LOL, the boys want less to read and the girls can handle more! No, that’s not being sexist, it’s reality!

    Glad to hear that B is back. I know that feeling well. 🙂

    Reply

  3. MotherLove
    Jun 17, 2008 @ 12:14:49

    I don’t think 9-12 qualifies as “young adult”. It’s been pre-teen for as long as I can remember. What is the nature of the book?

    Reply

  4. SingleMomSeeking
    Jun 17, 2008 @ 13:13:34

    You go Mama!! I can’t wait to read your book.

    Over here, we just finished Clementine, which Mae got for her birthday. I LOVED this book. so did she:

    http://www.amazon.com/Clementine-Sara-Pennypacker/dp/0786838825

    Mae is a huge fan of Junie B. Jones and Judy Moody series… That’s her sense of humor. A chapter a night is perfect for us. Or, I read one chapter, and she starts the next on her own.

    Reply

  5. Shannon
    Jun 17, 2008 @ 13:25:04

    Leslie-Thanks! Yes, some of B’s books are about 200 pages. I’m going to keep checking over them to see the ranges and chapter lengths that hold her attention the best.
    Mimi-I agree, some illustrations are in order. I’m trying to get my Dad to do some, since he’s very much a part of this book. When I reveal more of what it’s about, then you will all understand better was well. It’s historical fiction, that much I will say.
    MotherLove-That’s the reason I put the age too, so that people would know it wasn’t the older bracket. So yes, pre-teen would suit well too.
    SingleMomSeeking- B LOVES the same books as Mae. She’s read all the Junie Bs…if you need some let me know, I’d be happy to ship them out! And she read Clementine and Judy Moody too. Did you now there are more Clementine books? We didn’t know that, I just looked! She also just found out she likes “The Amazing Days of Abby Hayes” series and the “Ivy and Bean” books (I just saw that there’s a whole series now and we haven’t read them). She never liked any of those books about fairies that some other girls seemed just mad for. And recently she asked for the Guinness Book for kids. Our girls are so similar.

    Reply

  6. littlemansmom
    Jun 18, 2008 @ 09:22:07

    My littleman is only 8, but is beginning to get the reading bug. He’s still into those books with shorter chapters. Geronimo Stilton, Flat Stanley, etc…..I think he feels more accomplished or something when he comes out saying “I just read 5 chapters mom!” (but meanwhile the chapters are only anywhere between 3 to 9 pages! LOL)

    Reply

  7. Shannon
    Jun 18, 2008 @ 10:55:36

    Littlemansmom- I think thats just a doable amount for an eight year old to read. B can read more (she’s testing at an eighth grade reading level, and she’s 8!), but she was prefers the same books as littleman. She likes that length too. I want to make my chapters shorter like that, maybe 10-12 pages each and maybe 12 chapters in the book? Something under or close to 150 pages. I want it to be enjoyable and since its going to be a bit of history too, that will be tricky.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

