And her pride in her country goes on…

The girl knows no bounds.  I shipped her off to her Daddy’s like this today:

I’m preppy, a bit more conservative…not nearly as well accessorized.  This girl pulls it all together in a flashy, glam, trendy way.  It’s nice to see that most of my tomboy-ness did not wear off.  She’s the perfect mix.  She’s going to fireworks tonight with her Dad’s family (it’s his weekend darn it), and we took her via boat to see some last night.  Sitting on the front of the boat, talking about well, really nothing at all, I got to thinking how our traditions change depending on who we are with.  With my new husband, we take his sister and her husband and our two lovely nieces out on the boat tonight, along with his parents, to watch fireworks.  That’s obviously a new one.  B and I have always celebrated on our own or at a BBQ with my parents before now.  Divorce changed our normal routine of going to the parades and family things all together.  

What are your 4th of July traditions?  Have they changed over time?

 

I will never change our Christmas ones.  For some reason those seem much more concrete.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mimi
    Jul 04, 2008 @ 22:24:44

    I used to let my older kiddos go with their father’s family because they ALL gathered and had big goings on all weekend. When I got together with my DH we started going to his sister’s house for a cookout and home fireworks.

    When YDD was born I spent that year in the hospital with her in PICU, the next year at SIL’s her DH was such an @$$ that I had to leave early! (Long story)

    We might have gone there this year but he was a huge @$$ at Memorial Day so it looks like we’re staying home and watching the neighbors set off fireworks after the city’s ‘extravaganza’. It will be nice and laid back and I’d rather that YDD grows up being mellow like this than the commotion at SILs!

    Reply

  2. SingleMomSeeking
    Jul 07, 2008 @ 10:40:04

    Wow, she really has style. Nails and toes! Love it.

    We went to a single mom friend’s home, where all the neighbors got together for small fireworks in the back. I explained to my kid on the way there that I don’t agree with the fireworks this year in Cali, because of all the fires here. It’s so dry!!

    A spark hit her on the forehead, just minor… something for her to tell the world about.

    Reply

  3. dadshouse
    Jul 07, 2008 @ 15:30:36

    Love the red, white, and blue nails! And the posing for the pic. Reminds me of my daughter when she was younger. Thanks for sharing

    Reply

  4. pisceshanna
    Jul 07, 2008 @ 19:45:08

    Wow she’s really rockin’ the Red, White & Blue. You go girl!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

