Cramming for school.

So it’s a done deal.  I took the job.  

Thanks to all of you who helped and supported and weighed in on this major decision.  I’m now fully preparing for the upcoming school year teaching Chemistry (which I taught college chem labs for the last five years so I’m not feeling as nervous about that) and Physics (eek, not my normal subject area and it’s been years since I’ve dealt with it, so I’m studying up extra hard).  The first half of the year it’s Chem and Physics every day and the Regents in January.  Then the next half of the year it’s just Chemistry.  The same one I will have taught in the first semester.  So that at least should be easier.  It’s just the first half of the year that will be overwhelming.  But I’m up for it-I’m going to get as much planned ahead as I can.

Any teachers out there?  Any science teachers?  Anyone want to help out? 😉  

How do you all prepare for a  new job, where you don’t know anybody???

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jenn3
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 11:30:01

    Congrats. I don’t have too much advice for you since I’m a sad little title clerk. Haha. I’m sure you’ll do great. Just remember that most of the kids won’t listen anyway, so it’s not a big deal if you say something that doesn’t make sense. Haha. (This was high school, right?) Anyway, maybe you’ll get some advice from someone who really has some to give.

    Reply

  2. littlemansmom
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 11:41:21

    WOOHOO! A new adventure!!! Congrats on the new job !

    I’m SURE that you’ll do just fine and make LOTS of new friends 😉

    Reply

  3. randomesq
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 12:00:39

    Whoa, chemistry and physics! Quite a job. Ahhh, I remember calculating how many moles of an element it would take to do something or other. Av0gadro and all that. 6.02 x 10^23? Is that right? Man, it’s been a long time.

    I hope you really enjoy your new job! I have a great deal of respect for teachers. It’s unbelievable how much work they do, how much money of their own they spend on their classroom, and how little of it is sometimes recognized.

    -R.

    Reply

  4. Jolene
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 12:39:18

    I definitely can’t chime in here.

    Not a teacher and on top of that, in order to get my Regents Diploma I took art and french throughout high school, so that I didn’t have to take advanced courses in math and science.

    Have fun setting up your lab/classroom. At least you get more than a day, unlike the teachers at N$$S this fall 😦

    Reply

  5. pisceshanna
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 14:14:21

    YAY! I’m so excited for you! Should make good blogging fodder for the next year. My sis is getting her masters in Geology, so I don’t know how much she could help out, but hey, if I can force information out of family members for the sake of the single mom club, I WILL! 🙂

    Reply

  6. SingleWorkingMommy
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 22:15:30

    I was a substitute teacher for awhile. Doesn’t really count though, does it?

    Good luck with the new job though! You’ll do great.

    I don’t even know what a Regent is. Is that bad? It probably is.

    Reply

  7. Shannon
    Jul 30, 2008 @ 09:02:58

    Jenn3-Thanks for the support. That will be the biggest trick, getting high schoolers to listen!
    LittleMansMom-Thanks, I know it will be ok once I get going, but I’m not sure I’ll have TIME to make more friends with this crazy schedule!
    More time at home, but busier days at work…it’s all good.
    Randomesque-Great job remembering Avogadro, you must have had a good Chemistry teacher! College Chemistry is something I taught relatively recently, so I should be ok there, it’s the Physics I’m really studying up for!
    Jolene-They aren’t getting money at N$$S this year? Well, private school doesn’t have tons of money, but they seem really good about anything I do ask. I’m super excited to get in the classroom and organize.
    PH-So true, it’s going to be great blogging fodder. Is your sis going to teach? Good for her getting her Masters in Geology…I don’t know anyone in that field. I love women in non-traditional female roles.
    SingleWorkingMommy-it totally counts. And unless you are in NY State you wouldn’t know what a Regents is…it’s just something our state has. A test at the end of certain courses that is state designed and the kids have to pass. Physics and Chem both have one. It definitely makes teachers more accountable, since we aren’t designing the test, but makes lots of teachers “teach to the test”. Not good on that count. And thanks!

    Reply

  8. SingleMomSeeking
    Jul 31, 2008 @ 17:08:48

    Congrats! I’m sure you’re a great teacher!

    I write textbooks… mostly for elementary and middle schoolers, so I’m on the “other side.”

    Reply

  9. Liz
    Aug 01, 2008 @ 15:05:24

    I’m behind on my reader so I just saw this news — YEAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m so excited for you! You are going to do a great job — No doubt about it!

    Reply

  10. Liz
    Aug 01, 2008 @ 15:06:21

    Oh — and I taught ESL for one year in a middle school. I was pregnant, and those kids made me cry (and not in a good way) at least once a week. But I’m sure you won’t have any of that!

    Reply

  11. Leslie
    Aug 08, 2008 @ 11:26:36

    Congrats!!

    I have a friend in a job that sounds similar to yours and have always thought he should be a teacher since his eyes light up when he talks about his “science stuff” 🙂 I think it really makes a difference in a teacher when they’re speaking from experience and knowledge rather than just the material, you know. They’re going to really enjoy you!

    Reply

  12. Shannon
    Aug 11, 2008 @ 09:59:28

    Thanks guys!
    Liz, I hope they don’t make me cry! 🙂 I’ll commiserate with you if they do.
    Leslie-that’s exactly why I thought this would be a good change for me. Sometimes in research science, it’s hard to see the long term effects of what you do-but I remember my high school teachers very well. Thanks for the inspiration!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

