Twilight.

I’ve been slacking again!  I’m headed to St. Maarten on Friday and I wanted to get a post in…but who knows, maybe I’ll actually have time to post while I’m there!

twilight_bigteaserposter

I wanted to talk about Twilight.  Although it was targeted to a teen audience, I read those books so fast, it was like they were magazines.  And I dragged the husband to the movie.  😉  I joke that he officially lost his “man card” on that one.  So, let’s talk about it…all my girlfriends lament over the fact that guys aren’t more like Edward.  What do you think?  Are there some Edwards out there?  Are we too picky?  I think even when we’ve got it really good, there are still things about our significant other, that just aren’t what we dream of when we think of marriage, as a child.  I know this because my daughter talks about what her “prince” will be like…and I tell her that we need to not set the bar so high.  We shouldn’t make a cookie cutter “Edward”…appreciate people for all of their different attributes.

But anyway…don’t ya just love Edward?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jenn
    Feb 11, 2009 @ 12:09:33

    I read in some kind of marriage book one time that woman expect that ‘Prince Charming’ that they learned about as children and that adds alot of disappointment when reality hits. I think there are things we deserve to be picky about, but we have to remember that all men are human and not characters in a book. (All this from a single mom. Haha.)

    I’ve only read the first two books. I think they’re a little bit cheesy, but they do grab your attention. I plan on reading the rest but I haven’t had a chance yet.

    Reply

  2. pisceshanna
    Mar 05, 2009 @ 15:28:57

    I forget the article, but Im going to have to track it down, because what you’re talking about here really brings up a good point.

    The article discussed how romantic comedies actually trick our mind into expecting unrealistic results from our partners. They create unhappiness in couples who aren’t living the way Ross and Rachel did on Friends.

    I think about this, and then wonder what kind of affect romantic teen dramas are having on our daugther’s minds. Hello, I was of the “Titanic” generation, and it all but killed my odds of meeting somoene in the real world. I got burned, and my fantasy of meeting my own Leo Dicaprio was completely obliterated.

    Movies are awesome, and I love them dearly, but I fear that they have become more important to us than real life. We expect life to mirror our on screen lives, not the other way around.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

