Going back.

So I’m going back to my old job.  Teaching is not the job for me.  🙂

Although it involves a two hour daily commute, the benefits are better, I’m more sane, and the people are like family.  AND I need the intellectual stimulation.  I’m going back full-time to start with and after the new lab is up and running, we’ll establish a schedule/plan that works better for me (as per the new boss).  It’s a management position and I’m excited to go back to my old “family”.

Perk-I’m paid by the school until the end of August and I left my old job at the end of August last year…as long as I return within a year I still get all my old “perks” back just like I never left.  Extended vacation time that I earned after ten years of service there.

Drawbacks-it’s a long commute.  I don’t totally mind the drive, but I have to keep a gas-friendly vehicle and it won’t make sense to get a new fancy car.  Oh well…I’d rather wake up happy to go to my job.  I know I’m crazy to sign back up for that commute, but I’ve missed that place.

I won’t ever go back to teaching.  I was going to use this year to close out that “student teaching” requirement and I won’t even bother to go through the steps required to finish out certification.  I don’t like it and I’d probably wait tables before I ever went back to it.  Let’s call that almost completely Masters in Education degree a complete waste of time and money.  Oh well.  I’ll kick myself each time I pay that student loan each month but honestly I really am happier to go back to research.  And the job is pretty flexible and like I said, we’ll modify accordingly once we get my new lab going.  I’m excited to work for such a brilliant guy with such cool research!

And oh yeah, I won’t have to do any work at home and I’ll be able to blog more.  😉  Thanks for your support guys, back when I made the decision to try teaching.  I should have just taken my boss up on it when he said, “Is there any way I can convince you to stay?”.  I should have said three days a week, ten hour days, and I’ll stay.  🙂  Eventually, I hope to do M,T, Th, F with Wednesdays off and a workday of 8-4 on the other days.  Should be ok right?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. single mom seeking
    Mar 31, 2009 @ 13:06:17

    Congrats!! You sound very clear.

    But, wow, a 2-hour commute? Have you ever considered moving closer to the job?… I imagine that your daughter’s school is close to your home. Just a thought.

    Reply

    • Shannon
      Mar 31, 2009 @ 13:22:30

      Thanks Rachel. Definitely can’t move closer since we own a business that we need to be close to and we just LOVE our house and our neighborhood. It’s a very family-friendly work environment, which I loved as a single mom. Plus, we are lucky enough to have grandparents and B’s Daddy close by (and New Husband) if anything is needed. I usually just stay home when B is not feeling well anyway. Eventually, once I get the new lab up and running, I’ll be able to cut down the schedule a bit…I’d like to go 4 days a week 8-4. Still home by 5! My brain needs this job…and there aren’t any comparable jobs closer to where I live. AND most importantly, we don’t want to move again until the kids are out of school. We all love this house and our neighbors (B’s nine year old girlfriends live on either side of us!). I did the commute for 11 years and the ride wasn’t that much of a big deal to me. But everyone always makes me feel like it should be. 🙂

      Reply

  2. drdianehamilton
    Jun 29, 2010 @ 18:23:29

    I never thought in a million years I’d be teaching but I actually love it. I don’t know what grade level you taught but I found a lot of good online teaching jobs through sites like http://www.higheredjobs.com (I have no affiliation with them). I work at home – no commute . . .love it. I bring my laptop with me when I travel. It’s so easy. I’m not sure how I found your blog but I wish you luck 🙂 http://www.drdianehamilton.com 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

