Break into Spring!

Our neighborhood is fabulous for a growing 9 year old girl!  We stayed home for spring break, since we usually travel during February break, when it’s just dreadful here in NY.  Spring break is sunny and smells good and fun for bike riding and rollerblading and yes…trampolining!  I love that we have little girls B’s age next door, but I hardly see her anymore!  It shows me what its going to be like as she gets older and has this “life of her own”.  I know its the point of parenting to raise independent children who make the right choices on their own, but does anyone else feel a bit sad too?  I don’t feel quite as needed.  I think B feels it too…she pops her head in periodically and yells, “Mom???  I LOVE you!”.  Here we go-the beginning of her taking care of me.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dadshouse
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 19:31:00

    THis is so funny. My kids are NEVER HOME anymore. Always off with friends. At least they still eat with me. I appreciate that.

    Reply

  2. Shannon
    Apr 21, 2009 @ 13:08:48

    Yes, DH, B still eats with us-I’m a stickler for sit-down, family meals. When the kids are home with us, they get the real deal. Even when it was just my daughter and I we still did that. I think it matters. And you sound like a good cook, so no wonder they eat with you!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

