10 GOOD things about a long commute.

So I’ll be back on the one-hour, one-way daily commute August 31st.  I’m so grateful to be getting out of teaching high school Chemistry and Physics that the commute will be a gift-at least for awhile.  But since I know that eventually it will be tough to tolerate the 2 hours daily out of my life (but I’m still home by 5 every day), I’m making a list to look back upon as a reminder.

Here are the positives about having an hour before and after work in my car.

10. Sometimes it’s really fun to stop at a little convenience store and get a yummy snack.  I don’t do it all that much, but when I do it’s a treat for the ride home.

9.Plenty of time to think about new blogging and writing concepts.

8. I get to walk in the doors of the building where I worked for 11 years and see the people who have supported me and been like family, since 2 years before my daughter was born.  I can’ t tell you how hard it was to leave and how much I’ve missed them.

7. My favorite hairdresser is in the town where I work.  Not to mention my gynocologist.  Much easier to get to those guys.  I need a good haircut.  No one is the same as my P.

6. I have plenty of time to mentally organize my life.

5.  It keeps me off FaceBook and email for at least two hours a day.  Well, sort of…I still receive messages from both on my BlackBerry.

4.  Coffee.  I get an extra cup on the ride in and get to listen to the news.  It’s lovely.

3.  It’s great thinking time.  I love to reminisce about my past and it’s a long enough time that I can have a good cry if I want and still be presentable by the time I arrive.  Sometimes I know I need a bawl session (I am so not a public crier, so this really helps to destress, I know it sounds nuts but having a place for it helps me keep myself together).

2.  Music.  Music.  Music.  This 5-10 minute commute has left me no time for one of my biggest loves-my iPod.  And NPR.  And current radio stations.  I can’t wait to listen to music again.  I really don’t have many other points in my day where it fits in.  Running is about it… and I don’t always run with music.

1. I will be going every day to a workplace I love instead of one I dread before I even set foot in the front doors, and working for a cause I believe in and a place I feel passionate about.  I won’t sell out again.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jolene
    Apr 21, 2009 @ 15:50:28

    You are very lucky to be able to go back to a job that you love (with the same seniority, benefits, etc. and a new title). Most people would live with the regret of switching careers and that’s that.

    The commute doesn’t sound so horrible now that you mention you get home by 5:00. The really hard thing for me would be winter driving – stressful!!!

    Does M care one way or the other?

    Reply

  2. jenn3
    Apr 21, 2009 @ 17:16:38

    It’s great that you can go back. And five isn’t bad. I don’t get home until 5:30 everyday, and I live and work in the same town.

    Reply

  3. littlemansmom
    Apr 22, 2009 @ 10:23:05

    I used to love the 45 min commute I had. It gave me the downtime to recharge and let go before I got home…..I kinda miss that now that I only have a 15 min commute….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

