The Anti-Procrastinator.

dsc02255

Yes, that’s me.  It’s probably my best and worst trait all wrapped into one.  If I know I’ve got something to do, I am not going to postpone-I’m going to do it right this very minute.

This could also be why I end up with my “free” time at 9 pm every night now.  I go downstairs, sit on the couch with NewHusband (who is not so new anymore, but it’s what you know him as) and reach behind me to the stand near the sofa and grab the glass of my favorite Argentina malbec he’s had “airing” for me while I tuck the princess in.  So although I don’t really go out dancing anymore, each night home is exactly what I look forward to every night.  I never, never thought that would be appealing.  Or that I would look forward to it so strongly.  But  I do.

As an aside, B wanted to have some recognition of Earth Day and we decided to start our own tradition.  We walked a mile around our development picking up trash on both sides of the street.  For a nice neighborhood, there sure were a lot of cigarette butts.  We took a pictoral representation of the results, I’ll load a few here.  And yes, my girl has some interesting clothes on…a plaid jacket, plaid skirt and argyle rain boots.  But for her, it just works.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chaz
    Apr 23, 2009 @ 21:57:50

    Hi Shannon….

    Thanks for your reply on my Second Wife, Second Best post. It was a collection of thoughts and experiences that finally helped me put the past in the past and be free in today to enjoy today.

    Interesting site. I see you are also on the journies of remarriage and step parenting.

    Both fascinating adventures that I never imagined being on but here I am.

    Every day is a learning experience.

    Will pop by again.

    Ciao.

    Chaz

    Reply

  2. vinomom
    Apr 23, 2009 @ 22:22:48

    That’s a really cool tradition. Wish I’d thought of it.

    My nights at home just relaxing with my wine (I’ve never heard of Malbec, but I used the “airing” context clue to devise that it is red wine) is my favorite place to be.

    Reply

  3. single mom seeking
    Apr 26, 2009 @ 01:50:29

    At first, I thought you meant that photo was of YOU. What a cool outfit!

    How great that you and B. did something meaningful like this for Earth Day.

    And how sweet that NewHusband pours you a glass of wine and waits for his quality time with you… Mmmm.

    Reply

  4. Shannon
    Apr 27, 2009 @ 13:09:42

    Thanks Rachel, I appreciate the glass of wine and the time reserved for us. I often miss sleeping with B, but I make sure to squeeze in special “sleep together” nights with her. She’s got a larger shoe size than me now, so pretty soon people won’t be able to tell who’s who in a picture!

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Changes. « Former Single Mommy

Leave a Reply

