Running.

Since I haven’t updated much in the last year or so, I really need to keep everyone up to speed about what is significant (and not) in my life.  Running is still very much a top priority.  And the kids and husband really help in that regard.  Here’s how:

Everything to do with our evenings and weekends is kind of built around my regular routine.  It’s not just me, my husband goes to the gym in the morning and that’s built in too.  But the kids are sleeping then, so they notice my absence more.  If I am a bit late getting out the door, there is no chance to backpedal, since they will often preface statements with…”When you get back from your run can I…”  or “Sunday after your long run can we go out on the lake?”.  Sometimes it’s the extra nudge I need.  And it’s always the break I need and I’m always happy and refreshed when I get home.  Usually, one of the kids or the husband will come down while I’m taking off my running shoes and get me a water.  It really IS a family affair.

I have now completed two half marathons since last October.  I love, love, love that distance.  It’s just right for me and the training is the only thing that I need to work out better.  I start too early and then am burnt out on following my schedule by the last two weeks before the race.  I’ve also done lots of smaller distances too and as a family we go to the fun runs that are taking place for  8 weeks in a nearby town.  My daughter (the 11 year old swim team member) is actually running 1 mile now at these runs and although I wouldn’t say she loves it-she wants to go each week!  The actual run she is ok with, but she really loves the atmosphere and how she feels after.  And that’s what I really wanted for her out of it anyway!  I haven’t been running the 5k trail runs they offer, because B wanted me to run the 1 mile trail run with her and there are plenty of other times I get my racing in.

And for the single parents and stepparents (two groups so dear to my heart), running (or walking or biking-whatever works for you) is so incredibly wonderful for YOU.  It’s a great time to just think and unwind and maybe listen to some music of your choosing.  It’s you time.  And you really need that in order to be a good mother or stepmother or father or stepfather.  Single parents, I know…it’s really tough for some of you to get out and hit the road.  Especially if you are really going it totally alone.  For my 5 single parenting years, I ran in the evenings on a treadmill while B played beside (at a safe distance) or ran when she was visiting grandparents or her Daddy.  As she got older, she rollerbladed or biked beside me.  My distances were less, but it was still wonderful for my physical and mental well-being.  I’d be happy to chat with you about how you can incorporate something similar into your lifestyle.  I firmly believe everyone should-we would all be happier people!  When I do get kind of cranky, my husband will say “ok honey…time to go for a run”. 🙂

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jolene
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 14:13:04

    I would love to be able to run for health reasons as well as for sanity reasons. I’m reluctant to do so because I live in the country and I hate to admit it, but I’m afraid of the inbreds who live around the corner and up the road. I’m also afraid of all the dogs running loose. That’s one nice thing about RP and Pburgh – the well-lit sidewalks and streets.

    Reply

  2. Shannon
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 14:52:30

    Excellent point. I went running with my mom in Eburgh not all that long ago and it was insane…the traffic was crazy down the main highway with tractor trailers almost wiping us out and she has told me about the awful dogs too. It’s true-I am able to run at dusk if need be. There’s a lot to be said for a safe village/town/city. I advise treadmill but that problem is that little people are always poking in with questions and it doesn’t do much for sanity-although it does keep you healthy. Running outside in the winter has been the best for my health. I didn’t get sick the last several years of my harder core running. Years before, I always had bronchitis and a couple bouts with pneumonia. Maybe, you need a big dog to be Ginger’s buddy and your running mate? My big dog Scout helped when I lived out in the wilderness-we had fun running (well, he was really pulling me). ❤ I miss that guy every day.

    Reply

  3. stepmumoftheyear
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 22:11:23

    Yep. It sure helps keep me sane. Yesterday I cooked a lunch for ten, including stepkids and in-laws.

    Heading off to bootcamp and pounding it out on the treadmill afterwards was the most fabulous feeling – and it meant I came home happy and elated instead of pissed off.

    Great post.

    Reply

  4. jenn
    Jul 23, 2010 @ 15:25:06

    I’ve recently started running. On a treadmill that’s almost as old as I am (slight exaggeration, but it is old), and usually about 9pm when Shiloh’s in bed. But I’m running. And it feels good. I want to try to run outdoors sometimes too, but that’s harder to do as a single mom. Maybe I can aim for once a week. I’m hoping to do a 5k this fall. Eventually I would love to do a half marathon, but I’m not in good enough shape yet. Baby steps…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

