Training time again.

I always forget how hard it is to get used to being in training again for a half-marathon. Although I love the schedule and predictability (it really gets you out the door, because you certainly don’t want to be regretting not training enough when you get to the day before the race), I also forget how tired my body is at first.
And I actually keep a base level of at least 6 miles all year long and during non-training I run about 4-5 days a week, mixed in with all my other biking, rollerblading, swimming, etc.
Last night I woke up with sore feet. I knew it would happen when I came back from my long run for the week…my 2nd toe on my left foot has been harboring a blister and as I ran, I felt it starting to become bothersome. I’m gonna have to tape that baby down this week.
However, YAY, my track workout is tomorrow. And those, I really do love. While they are happening I’m sweaty and exhausted, but that exhaustion is so rejuvenating. A whole separate entity from the exhaustion of a long run.
While on the lake all weekend on our boat, I read the new Tana French book (Faithful Place) on my iPad. I also found some pain in the a$$ things about the iPad. It overheats when it is too warm and it’s impossible to read in bright sunlight or on the deck of the boat. Nevertheless the book was good. And I normally like classics or non-ficiton so this is high praise indeed. (Kid free weekends usually mean I’m on the lake-missing my girl but enjoying the husband).
Anyone else in training right now? By the way, the lovely M and M ice cream cookie sandwich I had while watching True Blood was a lovely treat post-run.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dadshouse
    Aug 02, 2010 @ 12:49:04

    Oh, a half marathon. Have fun! I love running races. I cycle a ton, too. Love being active.

    Reply

    • Shannon
      Aug 02, 2010 @ 13:03:52

      Yeah DH, I do too. I don’t get to cycle as much when I’m training and it’s too bad you don’t live in my area, because I could use some cycling advice! I do so love hardcore mountain biking, but road cycling is new to me.

      Reply

  2. littlemansmom
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 14:00:57

    Kudos to you!!!! I just never could get into running, but now that the wedding is over, I’m going to try to get back into my workout routine! It was SORELY lacking the past few months!

    Reply

  3. jenn
    Aug 06, 2010 @ 00:02:24

    I’m currently trying to train for a 5k in October. I know that isn’t much, but it’s a starting goal for me. I suck at running (but for some reason really enjoy it). Maybe a year from now I’ll be training for a half.

    Reply

    • Shannon
      Aug 06, 2010 @ 09:06:39

      So excited for you Jenn! Drop me an email and I’d be happy to help and motivate you! As a single mom, I can’t think of one thing better you can do for yourself. Don’t talk it down, a 5k is a huge accomplishment! Getting out there and having a goal is what it’s all about. I bet you don’t suck either. Most people are middle of the pack.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

