It’s getting hot in here…

Really, really, really hot in here.  Here in upstate NY, we consider 80 degrees Fahrenheit to be sweltering hot, since we often get below zero temperatures for a large amount of our winter.  I run all winter long, outside.  It has to be very frigid to keep me indoors on my treadmill.  Sometimes in the winter, if I’m in training, I will do my speedwork or interval training on the treadmill, primarily because the track is stacked high with snow!  This week it’s been 90 degrees at 7 pm when I go running.  I still did my normally scheduled runs.  I’m nothing if not determined.  Once I’m in training, I just about never deviate from my schedule.  It really helps to choose a training plan and adhere to it.  Somehow it helps as a motivator.  An additional motivator is all those nasty toxins I’m sweating out of my body on a run like that.

This all relates to stepparenting and single parenting for me in one very simple way.  When you feel good about your body, you feel good about yourself and you are able to release all that stress that those two dynamics can build up.  It’s the one good thing that is for ME and me alone, that schedules right into my life.  It’s taken a long time, but everyone expects my running now.  No one feels it takes time away from them, the whole family is proud and my daughter loves coming to the track to time my speed workouts.  Before I remarried, I used to run on a treadmill almost all the time.  I didn’t race as much back then, but I got my running in.  It’s my sanity.  And probably part of the reason I’m very laid back and less stressed than most of my friends.  And when my daughter’s father manages to somehow get on my nerves (it happens occasionally, even now) running to some loud angry music really makes it all go away.  Really.

Anybody interested in running?  I’d love to help and give advice-I want to motivate all of you.  🙂  And for my runner friends, especially those fast ones, help motivate me to bust out a great half-marathon in October!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Suzy
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 15:37:49

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I’m just catching up on all the new bloggers. We do have a lot in common. I hope this heat breaks…then again, I think it’s too warm when it breaks 70 outside so of course I’m waiting for the heat to break! Stay cool.

    Reply

  2. Audrey
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 00:42:42

    How do you run in 90 degrees weather???

    I’m uncomfortable in the high 60s, LOL.

    Love how the whole family supports your running!

    Reply

  3. jenn
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 23:33:39

    The fact that you’re a runner and a former single mom is really motivating for me. I think I’ve mentioned it before, but I’m working toward a 5k in October. I suck at running right now, but I love it. I’ve mostly been running on a treadmill because I can run once my daughter is in bed, but now I’m starting to run outside (in the horrible TN heat and humidity) because I feel like I need to get used to it in order to prepare for the 5k.

    I actually just started a blog that I’m going to hopefully devote to exercise (mostly running) and weight loss (I hope – fingers crossed). I will still keep my other blog, but I want to have a place to talk about my workouts, etc, without boring my regular readers.

    I can use all the advice and/or motivation that I can get. Feel free to visit my other blog if you want. http://lovehaterunning.wordpress.com/

    Reply

  4. pisceshanna
    Oct 14, 2010 @ 16:41:14

    Hey I’ve been gone a while, but I’m back now with a new blog 🙂 I miss reading you! I’ll come visit again. And look at you go! Yeah gir!

    Reply

  5. Fredrick Mills
    Feb 06, 2013 @ 18:31:03

    This all relates to stepparenting and single parenting for me in one very simple way. When you feel good about your body, you feel good about yourself and you are able to release all that stress that those two dynamics can build up. It’s the one good thing that is for ME and me alone, that schedules right into my life. It’s taken a long time, but everyone expects my running now. No one feels it takes time away from them, the whole family is proud and my daughter loves coming to the track to time my speed workouts. Before I remarried, I used to run on a treadmill almost all the time. I didn’t race as much back then, but I got my running in. It’s my sanity. And probably part of the reason I’m very laid back and less stressed than most of my friends. And when my daughter’s father manages to somehow get on my nerves (it happens occasionally, even now) running to some loud angry music really makes it all go away. Really.

    Reply

Leave a comment